October 7, 2015

By Jennifer Nalewicki

For the second year in a row, premium bathroom and kitchen fixtures brand Hansgrohe and its sister brandAxor invited designers and architects from across the United States to submit entries for the Hansgrohe + Axor Das Design Competition. After reviewing three-dozen entries, a panel of judges revealed three winners and three honorees yesterday in two categories: residential and hospitality.

The judges graded each of the entries on a matrix that measured variables such as overall design concept, sustainability, and the incorporation of Hansgrohe and Axor products within the design. Each category was graded on a scale of 1 to 5. The winners each received a $2,000 gift certificate for Hansgrohe and Axor products plus round-trip tickets to New York City to attend an awards ceremony held on October 6 and hosted by Head of the Axor brand, Philippe Grohe, and designer Antonio Citterio.

Hospitality Winner

Firm: Rockwell Group and Ian Schrager Company .

Project: The New York EDITION.

Location: New York.

Products: Hansgrohe Metris, Hansgrohe Croma, and Hansgrohe Raindance collections.

Residential Winners

Firm: Intexure Architects .

Project: Tripartite House.

Location: Houston, Texas.

Products: Axor Bouroullec, Axor Citterio Kitchen, Axor Uno, Axor Starck, Hansgrohe Metris, and Hansgrohe Raindance collections.

Firm: ZeroEnergy Design .

Project: Family loft.

Location: Boston, Massachusetts.

Products: Axor Bouroullec, Axor Starck, Axor Starck X, Axor Citterio kitchen collections as well as Hansgrohe 180 Square Showerhead and Arm and Hansgrohe E&S Soap Dispenser.

“Out of all of [the submissions], ZeroEnergy Design really embraced the idea of being energy efficient,” says Michael Reiman, International Projects Consultant for Hansgrohe, who served as one of the judges. “Often people think that if it’s energy efficient, it’s not the best design, but they transcended that completely and it came out beautifully.”

The judges panel comprised Michael Reiman and Jennifer Levine of Hansgrohe; Sheila Kim of Architizer; Mallory Szczepanski of Contract ; Christine Abbate of Novità Communications, and Paul Makovsky ofMetropolis .